Building After the Black Gold
Via Francigena Arts Trail
The construction of Channel’s, After the Black Gold, is taking place at Woolage Village on the recreation ground now leased to the Womanswold Parish Council.
The village, known by the mining community as White City, and its recreation ground were originally built in 1912 to accommodate miners and workers associated with the nearby Snowdown Colliery.
Research for the project has included a visit by Channel artists, Sam Little and Ryan Cook, to the Heritage Centre in Aylesham that is part of the Kent Mining Museum where they met Philip and Kay Sutcliffe. Their nephew, Peter Sutcliffe, is a member of the Womanswold parish council, and lives in Woolage Village in the house that belonged to his father who was a miner at the nearby Snowdon Colliery.